22 replies to this topic

#1 ZaplinG

ZaplinG

Knight

• Members
  • PipPip
  • 92 posts

Posted 23 March 2007 - 05:56 PM

Hey guys - I'm fairly new to the gaming club/forums, but I was at the meeting last night (3/22) and heard all of the games voted into the next LAN and noticed there were no RTS's included. I am a pretty big RTS enthusiast (mainly for Starcraft, as I follow the proscene quite avidly) and have fair knowledge of most of the other big names as well and would like nothing better than to have some sort of involvement for these games.

As you may or may not know, WCG (the 'olympics' of competative games) votes on what games to include every year into their lineup. Starcraft has been voted without fail and with overwhelming majority every single year of WCG's existance as the number one game on the list (even above counterstrike). It was suprising to me, knowing this, that WCU's last LAN did not include this game or any other of the genre its selection.

I realize that an RTS tournament takes a fairly long time to complete (estimated three hours for only a 16-man tourny), but seeing as this is an important genre for competative gaming, would you guys be willing to incorperate it into the next LAN? I would be more than willing to share my knowledge of proper tournament setup and general help if needed.

thanks~

[Edit: The qualified games in question would be, in order of preference - Starcraft: Broodwar, Warcraft 3: Frozen Throne, Dawn of War: Winter Assault, and Age of Empires III: The WarChiefs]

#2 Nickname

Nickname

Staying Positive

• Club Advisers
  • PipPipPipPipPipPipPipPipPip
  • 4634 posts

Posted 23 March 2007 - 06:15 PM